My trip to Vigan

Image

I have always wanted to go to Vigan ever since I was a student of Architecture in UP. I was fascinated by the pictures I saw in books and have longed to see the Old Antilian Style houses that have been protected from the withering effects of time. Unfortunately, I was short on cash and time during those times so I never got to visit my father’s birthplace. Decades later, I got to visit Vigan but not as an architectural enthusiast but as a travelling psychiatric nursing guru. It only took me three hours to get there from my first stop which was San Fernando City, La Union. But coming from Manila, I believe will take about 10 hours. So here I was in the land of Ilocanos. The first thing I did of course was to go to the hotel which was just a few meters away from the Partas Bus Terminal. I checked in at the Green R  Hotel and it was indeed a budget wise choice, It cost me 600 pesos for a day’s stay which I consider affordable compared to some

Image

of the exorbitantly priced hotels I have been to. What made this hotel a wiser choice was its proximity to the Public Market and so food and supplies never became an issue for me. By the way, if you are wondering why this hotel is named Green R, I really have no idea hehehehe.

Leave a comment