The Teacher who inspired me to become a Teacher

My model of an outstanding teacher came from the first teacher that I have admired and respected. She was my SPED Science teacher, Teacher Trinidad P. San Diego. I can even still remember her full name in spite of the fact that decades have passed since I last saw her. She was only part of my life for a school year and yet she has made such an impact in it.

Yes, I was part of a SPED class. I believe that it is still called the SILAHIS NG KAUNLARAN up to now and is still housed in P. Gomez Elementary School in Manila. I belonged to the Accelerated Class or the “Fast Learners” which was composed of carefully selected students, from different public schools in Metro Manila, who went directly to Grade 5 coming from Grade 3. We were housed in the same building as other students who required “special” attention. Special or not, I believe that Teacher Trining’s characteristics would have inspired any student.

So what was it that made her so endearing to me? Her extreme patience, for one, really helped me realize my full potential. I came to SPED class a very impatient child. Most subjects bored me probably because the teachers failed to motivate me. They just didn’t have enough patience to answer the queries of a hyperactive, extremely playful gifted child. But Teacher Trining was different. She patiently answered all my questions about my second favorite subject (math was my favorite but I didn’t get along with the teacher well because she didn’t have the patience). Teacher Trining even went out of her way by lending me some of her own books, that’s what I call support. With her vast knowledge and excellent communication skills, she was able to explain to us in simple terms, complex scientific concepts that would have been difficult to understand had it been a mediocre teacher discussing it. To me, she appeared to be a Master of Science. She just simply had an answer to every question thrown at her. But even though she had all the answers, she would encourage us to express our views of the topic which in turn instilled confidence in us.

Teacher Trining was never late, as far as I can remember, which showed how dedicated she was to the profession. She was very neat and well groomed and really knew how to carry herself well. Not once have I hesitated to approach her because she always carried a smile and had this accommodating aura surrounding her. And this smile translated into a perfect sense of humor which she always incorporated in her discussions. This made learning science with Teacher Trining an enjoyable and unforgettable experience. The foundation in science, which she inculcated in me, eventually became my ticket to enter the best high school in the country, Philippine Science High School!

One thought on “The Teacher who inspired me to become a Teacher

  1. Hi. It is my full joy having found your writings on P.Gomez especially its acce class. I would love to have my son be a part of Gomezian as well as to realize his full potential. Like what you wrote, my son is also impatient and gets bored easily that his teachers and the school director assumed that he is spoiled and always say that he is hyper due to the fact that he will roam around the clasa when he already knows the lesson.
    I hope and pray that he will also be like you… I wanted him to be a scholar so that we can still have funds to enroll him for swimming lessons and have some for college. I have nobody else to turn to that is why I wanted the best for my son.
    I hope that you can give me insights, thru my email, at zei.hufano@gmail.com
    Thank you very much and God bless you more.

Leave a comment